Report No. 80/2024
Report of the Area Joint Policing
Sub Committees



## **Breviates of the Dublin City Council Area JPC Sub Committees**

In accordance with standing orders of Dublin City Council, the Breviates of the following Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meetings are set out hereunder:

- 1.) North West Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on the 11th March 2024
- 2.) South Central Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on the 26th February 2024
- 3.) South East Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on the 21st March 2024

## North West Area Joint Policing Sub-Committee meeting held on 11th March 2024

In accordance with the Joint Policing Committee Guidelines, the breviate for the 11<sup>th</sup> March 2024 is set out hereunder.

The meeting concluded at 16.40pm

There were no items for consideration at City Council.

## **Attendance:**

**Councillors:** Keith Connolly, Noeleen Reilly, Anthony Connaghan, Briege Mac Oscar, Mary Callaghan, Caroline Conroy.

**TDs:** Deputy Dessie Ellis, Deputy Roisin Shortall, Deputy Paul McAuliffe **Officials:** Pat Teehan (Area Manager – Finglas) Jackie O'Reilly (Area Manager-Ballymun), Derek Healy (Finglas Area Housing Manager), Margaret McGrane (Ballymun Area Housing Manager), Leona Harrison (Senior Staff Officer), Fiona Farrell (Staff Officer)

**Gardaí:** Superintendent Darren McCarthy, Inspector Patrick Gallagher, Inspector Mark Fitzpatrick, Sergeant Paul Mc Mahon, Sergeant Liz Gallagher, Sergeant Peter Foley

Drugs Task Force: Hugh Greaves.

**Community Rep:** Theresa Lydon

Safety Fora Rep: Michelle McNally

**Apologies:** Apologies from Superintendent Emer Curran, Bruce Phillips A/Ex Manager DCC, Community Rep John Redmond

Councillor Keith Connolly Chairperson 11<sup>th</sup> March 2024

## South Central Area Joint Policing Sub-Committee meeting held on 26th February 2024

# 1. Minutes of Meeting held on 23<sup>rd</sup> October, 2023

Order: Agreed

## 2. Matters Arising.

Order: None.

# 3. Introduction to Committee – Representative from Canal Communities Local Drug and Alcohol Task Force.

Order: Co-Ordinator introduced to the Committee.

## 4. Correspondence

Order: None.

### 5. South Central Matters

1. Update on Building Community Resilience.

Order: Noted.

# 6. Community Safety Forums, Four Forums Network and Local Drug and Alcohol Task Forces

- 1. Community Safety Forum Reports responses to issues raised.
- 2. Four Forums Network Report
- 3. Local Drugs and Alcohol Task Force Reports.

Order: Reports Noted.

## 7. Update from City Wide JPC Meeting

Order: Update noted.

#### 8. Garda Matters

Garda reports from: -

- 1. DMR South Division for Crumlin District & Terenure Sub-District.
- 2. DMR South Central Division for Kevin Street and Kilmainham Stations.
- 3. DMR West Division for Ballyfermot Garda Station.

**Order: Reports Noted.** 

#### 9. Anti-social Behaviour

Dublin City Council Estate Management Reports from: -

- 1. Ballyfermot Area Office.
- 2. South West Inner City Area Office.

Order: Reports noted.

## 10. Workplan Review

Order: Noted.

## 11. Next Meeting Monday 29th April, 2024 @ 2.30 p.m.

Order: Agreed.

#### 12. A.O.B.

Order: Requests for future presentations noted.

#### Councillor Daithí Doolan

Chairperson

26th February 2024

#### Attendance: -

#### **Apologies:**

Lord Mayor Daithí De Róiste Keri Goodliffe, SICDATF Sharon Bradley D12LDATF

#### **Councillors:**

Councillor Daithí Doolan (Chairperson), Cllr. Vincent Jackson (Chair Ballyfermot/Chapelizod CSF), Cllr. Máire Devine, Cllr. Hazel de Nortúin and Cllr. Sophie Nicoullaud

#### T.D's

Deputy Aengus O'Snodaigh

#### Gardaí:

Chief Superintendent Tony O'Donnell Superintendent David Butler Superintendent Keith Halley Superintendent Paul Maher Inspector Paul Maycock Sergeant Rob Smithers Sergeant Michael Nagle

## **Community Safety Forum Representatives**

Justin O'Brien, Canals CSF Pamela Kearns, D12 CSF Evan Moore, SWIC CSF Valerie Scott, Support Worker Peter Kavanagh, Four Fora

#### **Local Drug and Alcohol Task Force Representatives**

Clara Geaney, Ballyfermot LDATF Ger Doherty, Canals LDATF

### **BCR**

Bronadh O'Brien

### **Community Representative**

Joe Fitzgerald

## Officials:

Bruce Phillips, Executive Manager, South Central; Alan Sherry, Local Area Manager, Ballyfermot Area Office; John MacEvilly, Local Area Manager, Crumlin Area Office; Liam Hendrick, Public Domain Officer, Ballyfermot Drimnagh; Linda Fanning, Area Housing Manager, SWIC; Frank Murphy, Administrative Officer, SWIC; Gabrielle Malone, Senior Staff Officer, South Central Area; Nicola O'Kelly, Staff Officer, South Central Area;

## South East Area Joint Policing Sub-Committee meeting held on 21st March 2024

In accordance with the Joint Policing Committee Guidelines, the breviate for the 21<sup>st</sup> March 2024 is set out hereunder.

- 1.) Minutes from December 2023 meeting agreed.
- 2.) Presentations
- a) Presentation by Senior Probation Officer, on Community Sanctions and Community Service.
- b) Notice of application for CCTV at Benbulbin Road, approved by the members.
- c) Crime Statistics Presentations Quarter 1.
  - a. Superintendent Tim Burke, DMR South Central
  - b. Superintendent Paul Maher, DMR South
- 3) Diary date/time for next JPC meeting.

27th June, to be confirmed, due to pending local elections

#### **Councillor Paddy McCartan**

Chairperson 21st March 2024

#### Attendance:

## **South East Area Councillors**

Cllr Paddy McCartan (in the Chair)

Cllr Claire O'Connor

Cllr Dermot Lacev

Cllr Deirdre Conroy

Cllr Carolyn Moore

Cllr Fiona Connelly

Cllr Mannix Flynn

Cllr Kevin Donoghue

Cllr Pat Dunne

Cllr Claire Byrne

#### **Dublin City Council**

Brian Hanney, Area Manager John MacEvilly, Area Manager Chris Butler, Area Housing Manage Eimear O'Sullivan, Senior Staff Officer Leah Johnston, Staff Officer

#### Garda Síochána

Superintendent Tim Burke, Donnybrook/Irishtown Superintendent Paul Maher, Crumlin/Terenure Garda Sharon Kelly, Kevin St. Community Policing

#### **Presentation**

Dermot Lavin, Senior Probation Officer

## **Oireachtas**

Chris Andrews T.D. Ivana Bacik T.D.

#### **Community & Business**

Keri Goodliffe, SICDATF Eddie McGuinness. Iveagh Trust & D8 Terry McElvaney, South Georgian Core

## **Apologies:**

Chief Superintendent Anthony O'Donnell, Chief Superintendent Majella Armstrong Superintendent Dermot McKenna, Pearse Street Cllr Tara Deacy (Vice Chair) Dominic Hession, Public Domain Officer